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COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR DEPUTY COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR
Marva Livingston Hammons Chantal Smith

Executive Director Department of Human Services

Department of Human Services Child Welfare Division

1575 Sherman Street, 8th Floor 1575 Sherman Street, 2nd Floor

Denver, CO 80203 Denver, CO 80203-1714

Telephone: (303) 866-2998
Fax: (303) 866-2998

Colorado is a decentralized state. ICPC functions are delegated to 64 local county department of
social services, except those involving incoming residential child care facilities, or foster home
placements where a Colorado child placement agency is providing services. Private/non public
adoptions are processed by Adoption Alliance. (see below).

NON-PUBLIC ADOPTIONS are processed by: Adoption Alliance, 2121 S. Oneida St., Suite
420, Denver, CO 80224. Contact Person: Kathy Tirone, (303) 584-9900. Fax: (303) 584-9007.

RESIDENTIAL CHILD CARE FACILITIES—AIl incoming RCCF placement requests are
processed by: Chantal Smith (address, same as above). Do not send these requests to local county
department of social services.

All incoming Foster Care requests originated by a public entity and where a private child placement
agency is performing services in Colorado are processed by: Chantal Smith (address, same as above).
Do not send these requests to local county department of social services.

All other inquiries regarding specific cases should be directed to the appropriate local county
department of social services that sent the original ICPC request listed on the 100A.

ICPC Office Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Mountain Time Zone.

GENERAL INFORMATION

ICPC Code Citation. 24-60-1801 to 24-60-1803. 26-6-104(5) CRS 1973 as amended.

Statutory Penalties Under Article 1V. Violation of Child Care Act is a misdemeanor.
(26-6-112).

Adge of Majority. 21 years. (2-4-401). 18 years under Children’s Code (19-1-103) but jurisdiction of
court may continue over any child under 21 years of age who has been adjudicated as neglected or
dependent, in need of oversight, or delinquent.

Court Jurisdiction. District Court (except Juvenile Court-only in Denver County); Delinquent; Child
needing oversight (CHINO); Neglected or Dependent child; termination of parent/child legal
relationship; adoption and support proceedings. (19-1-104). Domestic court: divorce, child custody
(14-10-123), (14-10-106).
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SPECIAL INFORMATION

Investigation in Custody Disputes. Requests are to be sent to the court service office at the court in
the county where person to be studied resides. A fee may be charged for this service.

REQUIREMENTS
Reports. Quarterly unless special reports are needed.

Licensing Requirements. Licenses are required for foster families caring for children related and
unrelated to the family, child care centers, child placing agencies, and residential child care facilities.
Out-of-state child placing agencies must be licensed by Colorado (26-6-104) for placements into
Colorado. Licenses are not required of public agencies.

PLACEMENTS

Independent Adoptive Placements. Unlawful, unless parent or guardian places child with close
relative. No person may place or arrange for placement except as noted above unless licensed as a
Child Placement Agency.

Adoption Petition. Child must be present in the state when a petition is filed. Filed within 30 days
after placement (19-4-10); final hearing is 6 months later, unless finalized sooner for good cause (19-
4-112). Petition must be accompanied by ICPC-100A and State Department verification that
placement was made by a child placement agency, if from outside Colorado.

Residential Placements. Placements into children’s residential care facilities require prior approval.

-Placements Requiring Interstate Approval: All placements into Residential Child
Care Facilities (RCCF’s), Specialized Group Homes and Centers and foster homes
require prior approval.

-Requirements for Placements: ICPC-100A, a summary of the child’s history
financial and medical plan. For placement of children under 16, the facility must be
licensed.

-Approval of Facilities: Residential Child Care Facilities and child placement
agencies are licensed by the Colorado Department of Human Services. Foster
homes maybe certified by a County Department of Social Services or a licensed
Child Placement Agency. Local County (Department of Social Services) cannot
supervise ICPC placements with CPA’s. The CPA supervises those placements.

-Rate Setting: Rates are established by individual counties department of social
services.

-Monitoring of the Child: Responsibility rests with the sending agency and the
residential facility. Local county department of social services do not supervise child
placement into residential facilities licensed in Colorado.
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-Philosophy for the Placement of Non-Resident Youth: Placements may be made in
licensed/certified facilities. Legal and financial responsibility remains with the
sending agency.

PAYMENTS
TANF Payments. Colorado as the receiving state provides for its county departments of social

services to make TANF payments on behalf of non-resident children in relative care if this is the
financial plan that is in the best interest of the child.

Medicaid Payments. Medicaid payments are provided for on-going treatment or emergency services
for non 1V-E Colorado children placed in foster care in other states. Provider claimants out-of-state
should write to ACF, P.O. Box 1100, Denver, Colorado 80201-1100, 1-800-237-0757, to request an
application. Medical emergencies are honored for payments, if submitted in a timely fashion. Certain
psychiatric services or psychologist services administered by or under the direct supervision of a
psychiatrist are reimbursable with prior permission from county departments of social services
holding legal custody.

Colorado IV-E eligible children are to receive Medicaid coverage in the state where they reside, in
accordance with Federal (COBRA) amendments, as do eligible children from other states now
residing in Colorado facilities. Please indicate on the corner of all ICPC-100A forms whether or not
the child is IV-E eligible. The sending state remains responsible for all other financial payments.

Foster Care Payments. Colorado, as the sending state, will provide foster care payments if the foster
home meets licensing approval or certification requirements of the receiving state.

Special Education Payments. Special Education services are available on a tuition basis on behalf of
non-resident school children placed into Colorado who are in a public school program. Under
certain circumstances, Colorado participates in the payment of special education costs out-of-state.

USEFUL TELEPHONE NUMBERS

Child Abuse. Colorado is state supervised, county administered in provision of social services. For
consultation or referral to the appropriate local county department, individuals may call the State
Office at (303) 866-5932 between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. After hours crisis calls are handled by
either county departments or law enforcement. There are no toll free numbers.

Juvenile Compact Office. The Interstate Compact on Juveniles is located at Montview Youth
Services, 1CJ, Bldg. 81, 3900 S. Carr Street, Denver, CO. 80235. Contact Summer Foxworth, Juvenile
Compact Administrator at (303) 987-4615.

Mental Health Compact Office. The Interstate Compact on Mental Health is administered in
Colorado through the Department of Human Services, Mental Health Services, 3824 W. Princeton
Circle, Denver, CO 80236. Contact Lori Banks, (303) 866-7424.




